Major in Geology

Main content

The history of our planet, its current state, and its development into the future.

The Major in Geology introduces students to techniques for investigating the various properties of rocks and minerals. It teaches the relationships between geological structures, forces and deformation rates that operate during tectonic activity as well as the evolution of climate through geological time. Furthermore, the programme gives a sound knowledge of the physical, chemical and biological processes on earth and explores the interactions between organisms and their environment on a wide range of scales.

MSc in Earth Sciences – Major in Geology
Total 120 ECTS
Required Modules:
3 Modules from Geology offerings
1 Module from complete offerings of MSc Programme
Elective Courses 30 ECTS
Science in Perspective (programme offered by D-GESS) 2 ECTS
Master's Project Proposal 10 ECTS
Master's Thesis 30 ECTS

From the three required modules within the Major in Geology the module Analytical Methods in Earth Sciences is mandatory. Students are obliged to select two out of the four modules:

  • Structural Geology
  • Paleoclimatology
  • Sedimentology
  • Biogeochemistry

A fourth module can be chosen from the all modules of the Master study programme in Earth Sciences.

Page URL:
Sun Jul 23 20:41:38 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich